Uphilldowndale

Watching nature take its course, from the top of a hill in northern England

Sold

4 Comments

In the current economic climate a property sale is good enough reason to hang the bunting out, the real reason was the Bollington Festival. The view, a terraced street in Bollington.

sold

I’ve got so out of sync with my blog posting, I’ve been a bit distracted, here’s a quick fire post of the streets of the Village of Bollington in Cheshire, it might make more sense if you start here.

IMG_8997

Like Wirksworth, it’s easy to get roof top views of Bolllington, because of the steep sided valley it sits in.

Chimney 3

Spick and span back yards.

IMG_9035

But if you are by now humming the theme tune to Coronation Street,* in an ‘it’s grim up north’ sort of way, you’d be a bit off target, other Bollington views include, the path up to the

Middlewood Way

IMG_9003 

The river Bollin, that snakes through the town,

IMG_9030

The flowers  by the recreation ground.

IMG_9019

IMG_9027

*That music is as much part of my childhood as meat and potato pie, with a suet crust, although I don’t think we watched the programme much, it was just there, a reflection of what life was like when we only two or three TV channels to choose from.

Author: uphilldowndale

Watching the rhythm of rural life, from the top of a hill in northern England. Having spent most of my life avoiding writing, I now need to do it! I am no domestic goddess, but if I were expecting visitors to my home, I would whisk round with the duster and plump up the cushions and generally make the place look presentable. I hope that by putting my words where others may see them it will encourage me to ‘tidy up and push the Hoover around’ my writing. On the other hand I may just be adding to the compost heap. Only time will tell! Pull up a chair, sit yourself down, I’ll put the kettle on.

4 thoughts on “Sold

  1. Oh my. I used to watch Coronation Street (on CBC–it was nice living across the river from Ontario). I loved your ferrets post, too. So a couple of nice memories this morning. Thanks.

    Those chimneys are wonderful.

  2. How beautiful. I miss England so much. Thanks for the beautiful pictures…E.Rhiannon

  3. Wonderful photos! xx

  4. Beautiful photos there, thank you for posting them.

    I especially love the ones of Middlewood Way and the River Bollin. I had the pleasure of providing medical cover for a cycle ride the other week through the Yorkshire Dales that went through numerous little villages. I am very sad to say though that I completely forgot to take my camera!

    Regards,
    Nick Hough

Come on, join in.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers