Size Doesn’t Matter

Trust me, it’s just a Christmas tree, its size will not make your Christmas ‘perfect’ nor is it the difference between life and death.

I was Christmas shopping last week when I found myself in a delightful but tiny shop,  when I shop there I have to quash rising feelings of claustrophobia because it sells such nice things and is, unlike the rest of town a ‘real’ shop: it is so small and intimate that everyone is sort of forced into one conversation. Well that is my excuse.

Another customer was going on, and on, and on, about the trials of buying a fresh Christmas tree. There was nothing right with the selection of trees on sale in Derbyshire this year (and trust me she had checked every last one of them).

Tree angst included

  • Too expensive ‘who would charge over £45 for a Christmas tree, what with the recession and everything’ *
  • ‘I always have a six foot tree, nothing less will do’
  • ‘Getting the tree just right makes my Christmas’
  • ‘My friends children are so upset because they haven’t got a six foot tree this year.’
  • ‘I took the first one back and changed it for another that was better.’

It was probably a bit blunt of me, but the words just fell from my mouth…

“I’m sorry, I think you need to ‘get a life life’ here; it is just a Christmas tree you are talking about.  Why don’t you just get some nice twigs and some pretty lights.”

She looked at me as though I had arrived from a different planet, and in truth I probably have.

Vintage lights 2

 

(*probably the person who has invested time and effort in growing the thing for the last six years, they will be trying to recoup their investment and buy nice things for their children…)

12 thoughts on “Size Doesn’t Matter

  1. I just finished work at a Christmas tree farm and I have to say almost everyone was very kind and easy to please. But then our customers are not the type to get too bent out of shape over a tree. Your remark was blunt, but on target. Well done. Most tree farmers do it for love and friends, not for the profit. There isn’t any.

  2. mrs k

    I bought a tree years ago and the planted it. I keep it trimmed so it does not grow too big. It gets outdoor light on it.

    Twisted Willow in a big vase, lights and baubles in the house. Just right comes out every year. I always feel sorry for trees that are grown, dug up and then thrown on the scrapheap. That’s me just plain daft.

  3. Yes, I’ve heard lots of Christmas tree angst this year too. I don’t know why it’s so difficult as the streets seem to be full of trees on sale. Myself, I prefer our artificial one as I don’t like the idea of a tree dying in the corner of the room while we celebrate and enjoy ourselves.

  4. Sara stanley

    hiya mrs uphilldowndale, ‘size doesn’t matter’ thats exactly what i told adam when i got our teeny tiny tree out this year!
    i hope you are well and i shall look forward to seeing you in the new year!
    and i would like to say thank you also for your lovely posts and pics of spud the dog. may be some more neddies for 2012? 🙂 XX

  5. I, too, don’t understand why certain people can’t just lighten up, relax and enjoy the season. Good enough is usually good enough! I’m enjoying a cup of hot cocoa and the sight of our Christmas lights as we speak.

    I hope your Christmas is bright and beautiful, and that Spuds gets a nice juicy bone in his stocking.

  6. We have no visitors this year, which I don’t have to feel obligated to have a tree. Hurrah!

    We shall have a lie in, a large curry and wine and watch rubbish telly. Or maybe going skiing if it looks like a powder day.

  7. Let us take a moment to contemplate the colossal disconnect between “It isn’t good enough” and “They want too much for it.”

    I just piled some pretty glass balls in a cut glass bowl and called it good. Not that I don’t love decorations. I enjoy other people’s very much.

Come on, join in.