Uphilldowndale

Watching nature take its course, from the top of a hill in northern England

Mum

23 Comments

My lovely, lovey mum died in hospital on Sunday night, aged 87.

 

Mum

We are comforted that she managed, until last Thursday to live  independently in her home of 48 years. She wouldn’t have wished for anything else.

On Saturday I received direction from my brother that she wanted a trifle taking when I visited the hospital that evening, it was late in the day and I feared she’d be disappointed with my earlier choice of fresh fruit salad. But when I got there she was not looking well at all, she didn’t want anything, except she told me, ‘If you see any pork pies, the ones with jelly in, will you bring one?’ Really, given my last post, I couldn’t have made it up.  It was not to be.

Here is Mum in 1928, a couple of years ahead of the game on cuteness, curls and Shirley Temple. Dressed appropriately for the hideous storms that are raging across the UK tonight.

Mum 1928 Edit

 

 

G’ remains in a critical condition, we send more pies.

Author: uphilldowndale

Watching the rhythm of rural life, from the top of a hill in northern England. Having spent most of my life avoiding writing, I now need to do it! I am no domestic goddess, but if I were expecting visitors to my home, I would whisk round with the duster and plump up the cushions and generally make the place look presentable. I hope that by putting my words where others may see them it will encourage me to ‘tidy up and push the Hoover around’ my writing. On the other hand I may just be adding to the compost heap. Only time will tell! Pull up a chair, sit yourself down, I’ll put the kettle on.

23 thoughts on “Mum

  1. Please accept my condolences too at what must be a sad time for you. I hope love and happy memories will mitigate the sorrow.

  2. I”m so sorry for your loss and hope that all your memories with her will ease the pain.

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss, my condolences to you and your family.

  5. So sorry to hear about your Mom. It is so hard to lose one’s Mom. My Mom died almost ten years ago at age 87 too – she lived on her own as well. We have a lot to be thankful for. She was a beautiful child and woman!

  6. I am so sorry about your loss. My heart goes out to you and your family. The pictures of your mom are lovely. It sounds like she lived a full life on her own terms.

  7. I am so sorry for your loss of your Mum. Your pictures of her show a beautiful little girl growing into a beautiful woman. ((Hugs)) to you.

  8. I’m very sorry for your loss. Hugs to you and comforting thoughts.

  9. Sorry for your loss. Glad that she was able to live independently until the end. I know that’s the strong desire of everyone I’ve known of a certain age, and am beginning to feel that way myself (though not yet 60.)

  10. So very sorry to hear about your dear and lovely Mum ~ sending warm hugs and love.

  11. I am so very sorry. You have certainly had a lot of heartache lately. Blessings for you and your family. And peace for your beautiful Mum.

  12. Pingback: Wind Egg | Uphilldowndale

  13. Through the years I have sadly had to talk to relatives of those very recently deceased and they have without exception found comfort in the fact that their relative had a long and happy life, that there existed a close relationship and their death was not drawn out.

    I offer you my deepest sympathy, for what is worth, and dread the time when someone close to me dies.

    Remember to celebrate her life with each other and not commiserate.

  14. I’m so sorry for your loss, but I’m glad you had a mum as lovely as her smile.

  15. I’m sorry for your loss. May light be upon your mum. She has a wonderful smile..

  16. Sorry for your loss. She was a beautiful lady (and a very cute child!). My thoughts are with you.

  17. She was indeed a beauty and very fortunate to be able to be so independent for so long and live to such a ripe old age. I’m sorry for your loss.

  18. Only just seen this and can only add my condolences to everyone else’s. You seem to have been having a tough time of it recently. It does sound like she had a good innings, although I imagine that’s no comfort to you at the moment. x

  19. So sorry to read this very sad news on your blog. Please accept my deepest sympathy for the loss of your beautiful mother.

  20. Pingback: Forever Flowers | Uphilldowndale

  21. I am so sorry for your loss.

  22. I am very sorry for your loss. Your mother was a perfect rosebud of a child.

Come on, join in.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers