The Limping Man

It was with a feeling of déjà vu that the boys and I set out to retrieve Mr Uhdd from a fell running event this afternoon, this time his circumstances weren’t quite as comfortable, we found him in the A+E department of Leek Moorlands Hospital in North Staffordshire

The Limping Man 2

He’d taken ‘a bit of a tumble’ and mashed his knee, it is in his words ‘a bit of a mess’ the wound didn’t lend its self to being stitched,so it has been stuck  together again with Steri strips. He was taken to the hospital by the St John Ambulance, so after a bit of a reshuffle of  running buddies, cars, children and kit, we managed to get everyone and  just about everything home again.Once home it was a bit of a palaver getting him cleaned up, but with a bit of improvisation using Toms cricket bat to span the bath, as a support for his leg, he managed a bath without getting the injured leg wet. He has to have wound redressed tomorrow, I might have to take the camera along, you do want to see what’s under that dressing don’t you?

11 thoughts on “The Limping Man

  1. laid back runner

    Well thank god , I was worried sick when I heard the news.
    I had a good race but fell 3 x times and had gashed my left knee and bashed my ribs and have a lot of scars for the day.
    After id fell id taken my vest off and ran without anything on all the way back as I was mopping the blood up with the vest.
    Anyway i blasted back to the finish after 15long hard miles and was waiting for MR UHDD.
    Bear in mind guys I know his times off by heart and one by one runners where returning that he usually beats easily. I started to wonder.
    Where the hell is he ????.
    No one had seen him
    A dilema, How could i run back. I was in the first aid van myself recieving treatment.

    After a while I knew he was in trouble and starting pacing about asking people. Finally someone said he has had a nasty fall and its bad.
    How bloody bad / Its bad thats all i know.
    God hear we go what can I do . Anyway after about half an hour a lady teamate said he had been carted off to A&E and that Mrs Uhdd has been informed.

    Thank god your safe and well done to the emergency services.

  2. Joss

    We have a knee injury to deal with in this family too. Yesterday it received an MRI scan and last week an x-ray. I hope Mr Uhdd’s injury heals better than this one has done. It was only caused by falling down the stairs of a bus, and not down a mountain. But knees are tricky things.

    Best wishes to Mr Uhdd. I hope he recovers soon.

  3. Back to A+E today, X ray and new dressing, a more modest little number than yesterdays, Mr Uhdd looked very relieved that the ‘flappy bit’ of flesh was no longer flappy!
    You can see the damage here if you must!
    His leg has started get very swollen and stiff this afternoon.
    Noddy, Mr Uhdd was a little disappointed that they only had a category for ‘jogging injury’ @ A+E, it sounds a bit tame

  4. Pingback: Running on empty « Uphilldowndale

  5. Pingback: FAQ ‘Is your husband accident prone?’ | Uphilldowndale

Come on, join in.