Uphilldowndale

Watching nature take its course, from the top of a hill in northern England

Eden

14 Comments

I’ve mentioned before, how I wanted to visit the Eden Project; well at last, I made it.

I loved it, it’s stunning; if you are not aware of the Eden Project it is an educational trust, that in a nut shell is  all about, people, plants and the planet

IMG_2033

it’s theatrical

EP12

fun

EP 3

Vivid

EP 4

visionary.

IMG_2097

Green

EP 5

Creative

EP 1

Growing

EP 2

All in a disused china clay pit, we could do with a few more people with the vision of Tim Smit around the place.

Before and after,

EP11

do you think he’d run for Prime Minister?

Author: uphilldowndale

Watching the rhythm of rural life, from the top of a hill in northern England. Having spent most of my life avoiding writing, I now need to do it! I am no domestic goddess, but if I were expecting visitors to my home, I would whisk round with the duster and plump up the cushions and generally make the place look presentable. I hope that by putting my words where others may see them it will encourage me to ‘tidy up and push the Hoover around’ my writing. On the other hand I may just be adding to the compost heap. Only time will tell! Pull up a chair, sit yourself down, I’ll put the kettle on.

14 thoughts on “Eden

  1. I’m glad you made it, it is wonderful down there. Being from the south west, I remember seeing it as china clay pits, a fantastic improvement.

    btw, did you see the giant robot made of household waste and white goods?

    –dave

  2. Love the pictures. If getting to Cornwall from Scotland wasn’t such a mission I’d love to go!

  3. You should be in marketing, Mrs Uhdd. You really got me interested. And I’ve been there already.

  4. It’s been near the top of my places to visit list for ages, and this excellent post has just nudged it even higher! xx

  5. Oh I am green with envy.

  6. Oh, I would like to see that. (BTW, your photos give a better idea of what it’s like than the project’s own website.)

    Now I am wondering how much of the Writing Studio and Bait Shop I might wrap in bubbles before winter comes howling down the Bay.

  7. We visited the Eden Project a few years ago. I took lots of pictures, but I must say your top photo is so much better than any that I shot that day.

  8. Amazing! Any sign of the cricket??

    • Glo, the next morning the cricket was sat at the tip of the mast looking like a fine figure head, then it must have taken a leap into the unknown…. we know not where! It has gone.

  9. The Eden Project is an amazing place 🙂 I’ve still got the Banana tree and the Bird of Paradise plant that I bought from there nearly 5 years ago (just don’t ask about the pitcher plants or the sensitive fern… 😉 )

    If you like Tim Smit’s work, then next time you come to the South West, I really recommend the Lost Gardens of Heligan – they are mind blowing!

  10. We went to the Eden project last year and loved it – we also went to the Lost Gardens of Heligan, loved it there too.

Come on, join in.

