Watching nature take its course, from the top of a hill in northern England

Let There be Music


After indulging in art, we took to music.  Now here in the UK most places the size of St Davids (population 2,000) would have at most, a village hall in which to offer a recital, but  St David’s is different, it has its very own cathedral

St Davids-1


We went along to a concert  performed in the by Elin Manahan Thomas (open the link and have her singing running for added atmosphere and goose-bumps  to this post)

St Davids 2-1

accompanied by  the  lovely young people of TheCardiff School of Music (who all looked no older than Tom.) Simply beautiful music in a spectacular location

St Davids 3-1

It was something of a treat for Mrs Ogg and I to walk to the pub for our supper saunter down to the cathedral for the concert and then stroll back to the cottage.

St Davids 5-1

Author: uphilldowndale

Watching the rhythm of rural life, from the top of a hill in northern England. Having spent most of my life avoiding writing, I now need to do it! I am no domestic goddess, but if I were expecting visitors to my home, I would whisk round with the duster and plump up the cushions and generally make the place look presentable. I hope that by putting my words where others may see them it will encourage me to ‘tidy up and push the Hoover around’ my writing. On the other hand I may just be adding to the compost heap. Only time will tell! Pull up a chair, sit yourself down, I’ll put the kettle on.

4 thoughts on “Let There be Music

  1. What a beautiful voice! I have been to St David’s cathedral, to a concert and I can imagine what a wonderful evening you had. But on top of that, no cooking and driving. Heavenly! I’m really enjoying this link. I think I’ll leave it on a bit longer…

  2. Beautiful ~ I don’t think there is anything more soul filling than listening to music in such a an amazing setting. I have come across a few occasions of choirs/organ in cathedrals and the experiences left such a feeling of peace.
    Your walk to the pub, concert and cottage sounds just wonderful :) What a lovely time you must have had with your friends.

  3. I think it would be a fine thing to listen to music at St. David’s. I always feel the weight of the mysteries that are invested in cathedrals.

  4. Great picture of the rose window. I love stained glass. The first song Elin was singing is one I know. A great stone cathedral is the perfect place for that kind of music — tremendous acoustics.

Come on, join in.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers