Watching nature take its course, from the top of a hill in northern England

Spud on Sunday Part LVIII


We thought we’d go back to the top of the hill, to illustrate  that the terrain  wasn’t quite as wild as the mist might have you believe.


The snow was patchy, the fun consistent.

Spud Hill top-1

I’d have said there wasn’t a breath of wind,

Spud hill top 4-1

but I must have been wrong on that count, as when we headed for the top of the hill we found a gentleman flying a kite.

Spud hill top 5-1

He seemed rather serious about his hobby, in a ‘train spotter’ sort of way and he  certainly must have been good at, did I mention there was no wind? Maybe he had a fan heater? However  my problem was that Spud seemed worryingly excited about the dancing tail of the kite. Fearing a repeat of the three little girls on the beach incident we took a detour, to save face and/or cost. We will return another day.

Author: uphilldowndale

Watching the rhythm of rural life, from the top of a hill in northern England. Having spent most of my life avoiding writing, I now need to do it! I am no domestic goddess, but if I were expecting visitors to my home, I would whisk round with the duster and plump up the cushions and generally make the place look presentable. I hope that by putting my words where others may see them it will encourage me to ‘tidy up and push the Hoover around’ my writing. On the other hand I may just be adding to the compost heap. Only time will tell! Pull up a chair, sit yourself down, I’ll put the kettle on.

8 thoughts on “Spud on Sunday Part LVIII

  1. Such wonderful images, to spend time in a place like that..incredible.
    And of course, Spud just gets cuter and cuter.

  2. Beautifully simple photos and I can just feel being there. Do I hear crunchy snow feet or sandy snow feet?

  3. Spud looks absolutely joyous in the second picture, and no wonder. I’d have a goofy grin, too, with the chance to go for a run up there.

  4. Even when you’re trying to put them in perspective, those are pretty impressive hills – and Spud the king of it all. Lucky dog.

  5. Very wise. There are times when it’s not a good idea to think positive.

  6. That second picture reminded me of my aunt’s Springer – whenever she was running she looked like a complete daftie!

Come on, join in.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers