Uphilldowndale

Watching nature take its course, from the top of a hill in northern England


6 Comments

The Road North

Thirty Days Wild, a post each day throughout June, something that is grounded in our wild world.

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_01

I’m up for this, I’ve done it before, I’ve a bit of a cop out on the delivery though this year.  Mr Uphilldowndale and I are on the road, with Spud the dog of course. We’re taking a three week tour in the campervan, a week visiting  the Orkney Islands, and driving the North Coast 500 route around the northern coast of Scotland. Daily delivery of posts may not be possible,  there are so many variables, when I find an Internet connection, expect a flurry of posts. Posts will not be exclusively ‘wild’  as there is so much to share, but nature will be here in all its glory.

20170601_142625 (2)

Post box, Isle of Sanday

First of all how did we get here? It’s a long drive from Derbyshire (over 500m),  we waved as we tootled along past Tootlepedal’s patch, and broke our journey by calling to see the magnificent  Kelpie sculptures at Falkirk, I’d wanted to see them ever since I saw the video of their construction. I was not disappointed.

IMG_9106

How skilful to get such shape and tone to the muscle structure out of sheets of metal.

Kelpies 3

Mr Uphilldowndale wanted to know the nuts and bolts of their construction

Kelpie nuts and bolts_

The Kelpies were having a little grooming

Kelpies 4

We then went on to call, unannounced, on M and J in Kincardine,  M used to work with me in my ‘wee flower shop’, in Alloa, some 26 years ago, we had not seen them since then. We had a lovely evening with them, and camped out on their drive for the night, their kindness and generosity was just as I remembered. A wonderful start to our adventure

Kelpies 5

As we travelled north we were struck by the gorse, it was prolific

20170527_115039

and its vivid colour and perfume,  sweet with notes of coconut, swept along with us.

20170527_125911