A brief moment in time

I walk down to the dentist this morning, not something you’d  normally leap out of bed for.

I took the old railway incline down into the village, it was part of the Cromford and High Peak Railway, that brought limestone down from the quarries to the waiting narrow boats in the canal basin. It’s now used as a path, and has been planted with trees (less controversial that current trees V railway issues)

I caught the cherry trees, at just the right moment,

Cherry blossom incline.jpg

If the wind had picked up, or if it had rained, it just wouldn’t have looked the same, clusters of blossom were hiding in plain sight

Cherry blossom.jpg

So glad I decided to walk, rather than drive; on the way back it got even better

Deer 4.jpg

I think this might be the same beautiful animal I saw in the field a few days ago, I think it is a roe deer, not something we’ve seen here before, red deer occasionally from off the moors, but not roe. I felt a little sorry for it, it looked like it might be happier in a herd (but its OK,  it seems they are solitary animals).

Deer 7

Too think, I nearly didn’t take the camera with me.

 

4 thoughts on “A brief moment in time

  1. Pingback: Barking up the wrong tree | Uphilldowndale

  2. Pingback: Float your boat | Uphilldowndale

Come on, join in.