Off Road

The car had to go to the garage, the garage knows our car like Dr Finlay knew his patients, they’ve had a long relationship, that is likely to get more intense the longer we keep the car (you might remember that one of the mechanics likes to shop for party frocks.) Normally I would hop on a bus to get me back home, but this time I decide I’d walk, up the hills and down the valleys

IMG_7985

I had such a nice time, especially once I got away from the road

IMG_7998

and the only sound was the call of curlews and lapwings; a decent curlew photo still evades me

Curlew

one day I’ll get lucky (or buy the right equipment) The curlew is a bird that has captured my imagination since I was a child, we used to travel by bus each Thursday afternoon (along the road in the second picture) to school swimming lessons and from the bus I could see the curlews with their scythe like beaks striding through the rough pasture, they seemed very exotic to me.

Curlew 1

I took my time, taking paths I’ve not walked for decades and paths I’ve never walked before,

Stile

my slow meandering pace would have driven Mr Uhdd nuts, but I only had my self to please. Dropping down off the moorland, it got all together more floral

IMG_8042

And very warm

Marsh marigolds

I watched minnows in the brook and others people hard at work

Hard at work

Sheep and lambs were everywhere

IMG_8028

And walking up the the lane to our house, I found my first bluebell of the season.

First bluebell

By the time I got home I was very glad of a nice cup of tea and a sit down.

14 thoughts on “Off Road

  1. What a lovely walk. Thanks for taking us along. I feel much better now. I believe I’ll go look for baby critters to photograph. (Definitely too early for marsh marigolds/cowslips here.)

  2. welshpurpletree

    What a beautiful place you live in. Which I could step out of my door and go for a walk across the hills. Lovely!

  3. Definitely one of the pleasures of time alone is to suit yourself, and what a wonderful walk you had with new sights and triggered memories ~ sort of like a little journey through time in such a delightful setting. Those curlews are impressive looking creatures! Great photos and thanks for the walk ~

  4. I have been blog-hopping from Circle of the Year and found your lovely blog. How I enjoyed your walk (I get so fed up with my local ones having ridden and walked them so often). Lovely photos.

  5. laid back runner

    Well that top photo of the path looks like the one Tom and I flew down at the race on Sunday.
    We had a good run/walk up the fellside and watched the fellrace. He did very well and fellwalked as fast as I did. I was very impressed at his descending techniques. He flew down William Clough as quick as I did as well.
    Ive told him I want to do a fellrace with him when he is older.
    Well done Tom
    Good photos Uphill

  6. laid back runner

    Well Id def say he is quick. He was supposed to keep the faster than Mr Uhdd bit quiet.ha ha LOL.
    I told him he could def be a fellrunner.
    I enjoyed his company and tales.
    As we trudged up sweating and working hard I told him that in 15minutes it would be our turn to rest and see the fellrunners come past. He pushed on and the next minute we were both sat on a large boulder watching Mr Uhdd come up the hill.

  7. droseman

    What a nice post and sounds like a lovely walk. I have to admit I am a little green with envy sitting here at work…

    dave

  8. Joss

    I enjoyed your walk. One day soon it’ll be me out there striding over the hills. In the meantime thank you for seeing the world for me. I am actually starting to see the world through your eyes sometimes. This morning I noticed how beautiful were four white shirts drying on the line with the morning sun behind them. Perfect for Mrs Uhdd’s blog, I thought! But unlike you I didn’t have my camera to hand so the moment passed unrecorded.

  9. I enjoyed reading about your walk, and imagined the wonderful silence, which gets more and more difficult to find anywhere. The top photo looks like a painting, realy interesting.

Come on, join in.