Window Dressing

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_17

Thirty Days Wild,  thirty posts throughout June (and July, and August, I’m so,so tardy) something that is grounded in our wild world. This year posts are from our travels around the  north coast of Scotland  on the North Coast 500 route and a visit to Orkney. Stand by, for lots of sky, sea, wildlife, history, Spud the dog and random musings.

On our travels I became captivated by windows, especially windows that had seen better days,  windows that seemed a bit down on their luck,  some deserted houses, ruined crofts, roofless churches.

Others that just looked a little weary, we can all get a bit that way…

Window Orkney white

Or  windows that held a story,  or secrets, like the remains of the  WWII  Whale Head chain home radar station at Lopness, on the island of Sanday

Orkney window radar station_

Some looked tense and fragile

Window Orkney_

Others like they might be around for centuries to come

Window Orkney brick

And some had obviously been around for centuries already

Window Orkney church

I couldn’t pass this one by, my parents had these patterned curtains, hung in the hall at home in the 1970’s, barkcloth fabric, I think it was called.

Window Orkney blue

Sometimes doors sneaked into shot

Window Orkney red door

or a nice piece of Scottish lace curtain

Window Orkney bright white net_

a flash of colour might catch my eye

Window Orkney bright white red

And if I was lucky a window, door and welcoming bench, three for the price of one.

Window Orkney shop

3 thoughts on “Window Dressing

  1. I love windows and doors, and always have. I don’t often photograph them myself, since at this point I’m spending more time in nature, but I always enjoy good images of them, and yours are great.

Come on, join in.