Sullied Reputation.

My reputation at work is taking a bit of a slide

Last week the boss of bosses, caught sight of me in the corridor

‘Ohhhhh, goodness, Heather, I thought for a moment your were….’

Then the security guard (large) was also taken aback,

‘Bloody hell, it’s a bit early for that!’

The cause of this problem is my thermal tea mug. Now regular readers will know I am fond of a nice steaming mug of tea, but what I don’t like is vending machine tea, it is the devils brew; even a bottle tepid aspartame riddled ‘pop’ seems like nectar in comparison to ‘machine tea’.

My work is a bit nomadic, I wander around the site with no desk to call my own, nowhere to hide a kettle, so on the days when I know I am going to be out of range of the cafeteria I take my insulated mug, it’s one of those bits of kit, that does all you could ever ask of it, the right size, not so small as to be like drinking from a thimble, nor so big It’s like hauling a firkin around all day, it keeps my tea nice and hot. I even like the colour, I chose it especially, its green I like green, it’s a little like the green triangles in Quality Street, I like them too.

image

And this is where it is all going wrong, here is the offending mug

IMG_4921

Yesterday was a long day, 12 hours two different roles, so in an effort to stop my tea levels falling so dangerously low as to induce a coma, I legged it from one end of the site to the the other to replenish my tea mug and took my self off outside to a quiet corner of the car park, to sit in the evening sun, to drink my tea, eat my banana and restore a sense of homeostasis, a little oasis in a busy day; that was until I was clocked by security guard (small) he came striding (small) across the car park.

‘Is every thing OK?’ he asked looking a little concerned.

The problem is you see, when grasped firmly in the hand and from a distance, my tea mug looks for all the world, just like a can of Heineken beer, people think I have a bit of a drink problem.

The boss of bosses and security guards, large and small, now know that my real vice is tea and not beer (although I like beer as you know, but not in the same volume as tea) and are somewhat amused by my tea mug; but as for what the rest of my colleagues think, but don’t say, I’m sure I will be the last to know.

Right time for a nice cup of tea and a sit down

17 thoughts on “Sullied Reputation.

  1. Jo, it had crossed my mind, to give folk something a little more substantial to gossip about at the vending machine. But maybe I need to find a replacement, cyclamen pink, or vibrant orange.

  2. pigeonwriter

    Hi thanks for visiting my pigeon diary. Had to laugh about your post – sooooo easy to misunderstand things when you don’t take a close look…always these prejudices…:roll:

  3. Ha ha, I loved this! One small joy of working from home is that one’s never too far from the kettle and so the pint-sized mug is always full of lovely piping-hot tea. (Not that I say ‘no’ to a beer now and then, of course, but it has to be Theakston’s Old Peculier or Innis & Gunn Oak-aged beer, rather than the fizzy stuff in the green can!) I’m worried about how you’re going to rescue your reputation now, though. You must let us know how you get on.

  4. pigeonwriter

    :lol::lol: – doesn’t this again prove the sentence “beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder”? I think if everybody could see these little guys live – they all couldn’t find them but adorable. It’s a great joy to see them growing and developing their little personalities…
    Thanks for the link – have no idea why mine did not work!

  5. Hahahaha. Like it.

    I’m partial to the odd can or three of Diet Pepsi from the vending machines dotted round my workplace. As I’m getting one, I often say cheerfully to whoever’s nearby, “I’m just feeding my coke habit”, to which they usually reply, horrified, “Anne, you can’t say that in here”. (I work in the jail where “coke habit” has a different meaning, obviously).
    Ax

  6. Pingback: Not on the Agenda « Uphilldowndale

Come on, join in.