Wet Wet Wet

Well at least the fish are happy; we had 48mm of rain yesterday and a further 33mm since midnight, granted most of that was tattooed upon the roof around three am, it woke me, but it’s  been dry most of the day.

fish three

The drive into the yard continues to crumble under the force of the water, great deltas of silt and gravel and neatly stacked piles of leaves are all that left in the yard this morning.

Leaves

The outdoor tomatoes look like they would like to book a week away in Spain or Greece.

Green Toms

Mr Uhdd is staying in a tent in Scotland with Tom,(fortunately it isn’t raining up there) he ran the Ben Nevis fell race today, up and down in 2:06, not quite the time he wanted, but there was no more to give; Mr and Mrs Laid back runner are with them and he met  up with my fellow blogger Sarah from Aberdeen, her man was running too.  Usually we all go to Fort William for a few days, however this year the race has fallen so that the boys are already back at school and Joe declared, (he is not as keen a traveler as Tom) that he did not want to spend 16 hr of a weekend in a car so we have stayed at home, the last I heard they were going for an Indian meal, *sigh* I’ll go and look what we have in the fridge.

14 thoughts on “Wet Wet Wet

  1. Dd

    I hope Joe is being VERY well behaved this weekend and Mr Uhdd will take you for a curry sometime soon to make up for your missed weekend!

    I feel a session of making green tomato chutney coming on.

  2. kingmagic

    Just polished off 6 sausage rolls with lashings of mayonnaise (light of course).

    I,m off to the Lakes soon and I have mentioned to Mrs. Magic that we need to go to Fort William sometime.

  3. Oh those pictures. I liked the fishy one, but the autumn coloured leaves … well I can feel the crunch they make to walk on. And then the tomatoes – ohhh: really beautiful.

  4. Gerry Sell

    The tomatoes. Definitely.

    I love Indian food – had some of the best I’ve ever tasted in the airport in Birmingham. Your Birmingham, not mine. A very nice family shared with me. I believe I was looking wistful at the time. It’s a long story. I hope you get your curry.

  5. laid back runner

    Well we both tackled the Ben Nevis Fell race and we where both slightly down on our times from last year. We are putting that down to our epic run a few weeks ago and the 30mph headwind on the summit. 2hr.06 for Mr Uhdd and 1hr 56 for me. Please bear in mind im a lot younger than Mr Uhdd so his time his fantastic. I did a somersault on the way down and will try and forward Uphill a photo to post so you an all see what hapens when you run the BEN.
    Indeed we met Sarah in the Indian which was very nice.
    My pond is full also.
    The picture of the leaves is a sure sign that dark nights approach.

  6. Congratulations to Mr. UHDH and his fell running friend, LBR (Laid back;) Hope to see a photo as mentioned above.
    Sorry you had a stay-at-home weekend, and such a wet one at that! That’s an amazing amount of rain, yet you ventured out to take and share some excellent photos. That’s a sign of a true photographer, albeit a bit of a soggy one 😉

Come on, join in.